Government Employees Holiday: Good news for the employees! Benefits of optional leave including restricted, DoPT issued order, these will be the rules

A holiday has been announced by the government for central employees. For this orders have also been issued by DoPT. Under the order, they will get the benefit of important leave.

Government Employees Holiday: Holiday has been announced for central employees. An order has been issued for this. According to the rules and policy issued in the order, the employees will get the benefit of 3 optional holidays including 14 compulsory holidays. An order has been issued by DoPT for this.

Issued orders

It is stated in the order that during the year 2024, the holidays specified in Annexure-I of this Office Memorandum will be observed in all administrative offices of the Central Government located in Delhi/New Delhi. In addition, each employee will also be allowed. He will be given the benefit of any two holidays to be chosen by him from the list of restricted holidays specified in Annexure-II.

Government Employees Holiday

Rules set

The issued order states that 4. The list of restricted holidays is attached as Annexure-II to this O.M. For Central Government Offices located in Delhi/New Delhi. The coordination committees in the state capitals may prepare a separate list of restricted holidays keeping in view the occasions of local importance.

Any change in the date of holidays in respect of Id-ul-Fitr, Id-ul-Zuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad, for Delhi/New Delhi offices, if necessary, depending upon the sighting of the Moon Personnel , to be announced by the Ministry of Public Grievances and Pensions, after ascertaining the position from the Govt. (DCP, Special Branch, Delhi Police, NCT of Delhi.

Compulsory holidays

In addition to the three holidays in the administrative offices of the Central Government, the following holidays will be compulsorily observed, to be chosen from the 12 optional holidays shown below.

  • Republic Day
  • Independence Day
  • Birthday of mahatma gandhi
  • Buddha Purnima
  • Christmas day
  • Dussehra (Victory Dashmi)
  • Diwali (Deepavali)
  • Good Friday
  • Birthday of Guru Nanak
  • Idul Zuha
  • Mahavir Jayanti
  • Muharram
  • Birthday of Prophet Muhammad (Id-e-Milad)

It is also clarified that no changes are permitted except for certain exceptions in the festivals and dates as indicated in Annexure-I and Annexure-II.

The 12 optional holidays are as follows:

  • An extra day for dussehra
  • Holi
  • Janmashtami (Vaishnavi)
  • Ram Navami
  • Maha shivratri
  • Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayaka Chaturthi
  • Makar Sankranti
  • Chariot Festival
  • Onam
  • Pongal
  • Shree Panchami / Basant Panchami
  • Vishu / Vaisakhi / Vaisakhadi / Bhag Bihu / Mashadi Ugadi /
  • Chaitra Shukladi / Chet! Chand/Gudi Padwa/First Navratri/
  • Nauraj / Chhath Puja / Karva Chauth.

For offices outside Delhi/New Delhi, the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committees in the State Capitals, depending on the decision of the respective State Governments/Union Territories regarding Idu, if necessary, on the days of Fitr, Idul Zuha, Muharram and Authorized to change the date of Eid-e-Milad holiday.

Gazetted Holidays to be observed in Central Government Offices during the year 2024

  • Republic day 26 january
  • Holi 25 March Chaitra 05 Monday
  • Good friday march 29
  • Eid-ul-Fitr April 11
  • Ram Navami 17 April
  • Mahavir Jayanti 21 April
  • Buddha Purnima 23 May
  • Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) June 17
  • Muharram 17 july
  • Independence day 15 august
  • Janmashtami (Vaishnava) 26 August
  • Milad-un-Nabi or Eid-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Muhammad) 16 September
  • Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday 02 October
  • Dussehra 12 October
  • Diwali (Deepavali) October 31
  • Guru Nanak Jayanti 15 November
  • Christmas Day 25 December

Restricted Holidays to be observed in Central Government Offices during the year 2024

Annex II

Holiday date

  • New Year’s Day 01 January
  • lohri 13 january
  • Makar Sankranti 14 January
  • Magh Bihu / Pongal 15 January
  • Guru Gobind Singh’s birth anniversary January 17
  • Hazrat Ali’s birthday 25 January
  • Shree Panchami, Basant Pancham
  • Shiv ji Jayanti 19 February
  • Birthday of Guru Ravi Das 24 February
  • Swami Dayanand Saraswati’s birthday 06 March
  • Maha Shivratri 08 March
  • Holika Dahan 24 March
  • Dolyatra 25 March
  • Easter Sunday 31 March
  • Jamaat-ul-Vida 05 April
  • Chaitra Shukladi / Gudi / Padwa / Ugadi / Cheti Chand April 09
  • Vaisakhi / Vishu 13 April
  • Meshadi (Tamil New Year’s Day) / Vaishakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam) 14 April
  • Birthday of Guru Rabindranath Tagore
  • Chariot Festival
  • Zoroastrian New Year’s Day / Nauraj
  • Raksha Bandhan
  • Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayaka Chaturthi
  • Onam or Tiru Onam day
  • Dussehra (Saptami)
  • Dussehra (Mahashtami) / Dussehra (Mahanavami)
  • maharishi valmiki birthday
  • Karak Chaturthi (Karva Chauth)
  • Narak Chaturdashi
  • Govardhan Puja
  • Bhai Dooj
  • Pratihara Shashthi or Surya Shashthi (Chhath Puja)
  • Martyrdom Day of Guru Tegh Bahadur
  • Christmas Eve

These will be the rules

  • The Union Territory Administration will decide the list of holidays as per the instructions issued in this regard by the Ministry of Home Affairs.
  • In respect of Indian Missions abroad, the number of holidays may be notified as per the instructions contained in this Department’s Office Memorandum. No. 12/5/2002-JCA dated 17 December 2002. In other words, only after joining the list will they have the option to choose their own 14 (fourteen) holidays, which include Mahavir Jayanti and Dussehra in the list of three national and compulsory holidays and weekly holidays.
  • In respect of banks, the holidays will be regulated as per the extant instructions issued by the Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.